The Meditator’s Nest: A Mahayana Meditation Manual

nest full cover snap

This meditation manual was inspired by the teachings of Khenpo Jamyang Tenzin at the International Buddhist Academy in Kathmandu.

In June 2011 Khenpo-la offered a month-long series of teachings entitled “The Meditator’s Nest” based on the Mahayana pith instructions from the Lamdré tradition. During that month Khenpo-la led daily guided meditations extracted from The Beautiful Ornament of the Three Visions (also known simply as The Three Visions) by Ngorchen Könchog Lhundrup. The meditations in the present manual are based on this text and are prefaced by introductions to provide some context for each practice. In this way they form a comprehensive guide for practitioners, from the practice of going for refuge up to the cultivation of superior insight.

Khenpo-la’s teachings from 2011 have also been transcribed and are being published under the title The Meditator’s Nest: Building a Spiritual Practice; it is an invaluable companion to this volume.

This publication has so far been made available directly from the International Buddhist Academy in Kathmandu only. We are currently in the process of publishing it via an international publishing house. Please visit this page for further updates.

Table of Contents:

The structure of each session
After the meditation
Getting started: sit and relax

Stage One. Taking a safe direction in life
1.    Confidence and trust: going for refuge

Stage Two. Setting priorities: turning towards the Dharma
2.     Appreciating what we have: the value of a precious human life
3.     Cultivating a sense of urgency: contemplating impermanence and death
4.     Taking responsibility: reflections on karma—actions and their results
5.     Longing for true freedom: contemplating the faults of samsara

Stage Three. A change of heart: for the benefit of all
6.     Opening the heart: cultivating loving-kindness
7.     Cultivating compassion
8.     Bodhicitta: generating the resolve to become a buddha
9.     Applied bodhicitta in meditation: cultivating equality and exchanging oneself for others
10.   Applied bodhicitta in daily life: the practice of the paramitas

Stage Four. Learning to see
11.   Bringing the mind home: the practice of shamatha, calm abiding
12.   Seeing reality as it is: the practice of vipashyana, superior insight

Selected bibliography

%d bloggers like this: